Veteran trio omitted as Borthwick names 36-man England Six Nations squad

England head coach Steve Borthwick has dropped veterans Billy Vunipola, Johnny May and Jack Nowell for his first Six Nations squad.

Borthwick has jettisoned three established performers under his predecessor Eddie Jones, who was sacked last month and has now been appointed Australia boss.

Number eight Vunipola and wings May and Nowell were all involved in the 27-13 defeat by South Africa that concluded the autumn and spelled the end of the Jones era.

Veteran trio omitted as Borthwick names 36-man England Six Nations squad

Cole was dropped by England after the 2019 World Cup final while Daly has been frozen out since last year’s Championship despite his superb form for Saracens.

Northampton’s rookie fly-half Fin Smith is present for the first time, providing cover for Owen Farrell and Marcus Smithwhile Ollie Hassell-Collins, George McGuigan, Cadan Murley and Jack Walker are the other uncapped players.

“This is an exciting squad, with a blend of Six Nations experience and young talent, and includes players who are in excellent form in the Premiership,” said Borthwick.

“We are all looking forward to the challenges of the Six Nations and we will approach this great tournament with a spirit of courage and total commitment. I know the players can’t wait to get back to Twickenham and give our fans a performance they can be proud of.

“The hard work for the Scotland game starts now.”

Ollie Chessum
Dan Cole
Ben Curry
Alex Dombrandt
Ben Earl
Ellis Gang
Jamie George
Joe Hayes
Jonny Hill
Nick Isiekwe
Maro Itoje
Courtney Lawes
Lewis Ludlam
George McGuigan (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)
Bevan Rodd
Sam Simmonds
Kyle Sinckler
Mako Vunipola
Jack Walker (Harlequins, uncapped)
Jack Willis

Elliot Daly
Owen Farrell
Tommy Freeman
Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish, uncapped)
Dan Kelly
Max Malins
Joe Marchant
Alex Mitchell
Cadan Murley (Harlequins, uncapped)
Henry Slade
Fin Smith (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
Marcus Smith
Freddie Stewart
Manu Tuilagi
Jack van Poortvliet
Ben Youngs

Related Articles

Back to top button